Cancer Treatment Centers of America Phoenix Achieves Esteemed Magnet® Recognition for Nursing Excellence

February 16, 2022

CTCA Phoenix one of just seven Magnet-recognized hospitals in Arizona

PHOENIX - Cancer Treatment Centers of America® (CTCA), Phoenix, has achieved Magnet® recognition by the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC), positioning the cancer specialty hospital among a select group – just 8-10 percent of hospitals nationwide – to achieve this honor. As part of its Magnet designation, CTCA® Phoenix also earned eight exemplars – qualities that make it one of the premiere hospitals in specific categories. 

As the gold standard in nursing practice, Magnet recognition is conferred upon organizations for delivery of high-quality care and safety, innovation in clinical practice, growth in professional development and overall nursing excellence. A Magnet hospital is one that has met and/or exceeds these standards.

“We have built a foundation and culture to deliver high-quality, compassionate care to our patients, while fortifying our promise to support, collaborate and empower our teams,” said Chief Nursing Officer Sarah Cossette. “This is a milestone and tremendous achievement not only for our clinical team, but our entire hospital.”

With this achievement, CTCA Phoenix joins its sister sites in Atlanta and Chicago in making Cancer Treatment Centers of America a fully Magnet-recognized healthcare organization.

Research demonstrates that Magnet designation provides benefits to healthcare organizations and their communities, such as:

  • Higher patient satisfaction with nurse and provider communication, availability of help and clear discharge information
  • Strong relationships with fellow nurses and supervisors
  • Leaders are visible and receptive to Nurses input in decision-making
  • Continued investment in nursing education

The Magnet model provides a framework for nursing practice, research, and measurement outcomes. Through this framework, ANCC evaluates applicants across 94 components and dimensions to gauge an organization’s clinical excellence. The foundation of the model comprises various elements deemed essential to delivering superior patient care, involvement of staff in decision making and ensure the staff is satisfied in their roles. These include the quality of nursing leadership and coordination across specialties, as well as processes for measuring and improving the quality and delivery of care.

About Cancer Treatment Centers of America

Cancer Treatment Centers of America (CTCA), part of City of Hope, is a national network of oncology hospitals and outpatient care centers offering an integrated approach that combines surgery, radiation, chemotherapy, immunotherapy and advancements in precision medicine with supportive therapies to manage side effects and enhance quality of life during treatment and into survivorship. CTCA publishes treatment results biannually, including patient experience, length of life, quality of life, patient safety and quality of care. CTCA also offers qualified patients a range of clinical trials that may reveal new treatment options supported by scientific and investigational research. CTCA patient satisfaction scores consistently rank among the highest for all cancer care providers in the country. Visit cancercenter.com for more information.

City of Hope’s mission is to deliver the cures of tomorrow to the people who need them today. Founded in 1913, City of Hope has grown into one the largest cancer research and treatment organizations in the U.S. and one of the leading research centers for diabetes and other life-threatening illnesses. As an independent, National Cancer Institute (NCI)-designated comprehensive cancer center, City of Hope reflects a uniquely integrated model spanning cancer care, research and development, academics and training, and innovation initiatives. For more information about City of Hope, follow us on Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, Instagram, or LinkedIn.

About the American Nurses Credentialing Center

The mission of the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC), a subsidiary of the American Nurses Association, is to lead the profession to shape the future of nursing and health care. ANCC's internationally renowned credentialing programs certify and recognize individual nurses in specialty practice areas. ANCC recognizes healthcare organizations that promote nursing excellence and quality patient outcomes while providing safe, positive work environments. In addition, ANCC accredits healthcare organizations that provide and approve nursing continuing professional development and accredits transition to practice programs and prepares nurses for new practice roles. For more information about ANCC, visit us at nursingworld.org/ancc and follow us on Twitter. ANCC is the only nurse credentialing organization to successfully achieve ISO 9001: 2015 certification.

About the Magnet Recognition® Program

The Magnet Recognition Program® recognizes healthcare organizations for quality patient care, nursing excellence, and innovations in professional nursing practice. Consumers rely on Magnet recognition as the ultimate credential for high-quality nursing. Developed by the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC), Magnet is the leading source of successful nursing practices and strategies worldwide.