Cancer Treatment Centers of America

Our accreditations

Our Cancer Treatment Centers of America® (CTCA) national network of cancer hospitals has earned accreditation and certification for delivering high-quality care and exceeding patient safety standards from numerous renowned health care organizations, which are described below.

Learn more about our hospitals

One or more CTCA® hospitals earned accreditation and/or certification by these renowned health care organizations:

American College of Surgeons Commission on Cancer

CTCA hospitals are accredited by the American College of Surgeons' Commission on Cancer. Accredited programs much show that their patients have access to the full scope of services required to diagnose, treat, rehabilitate and support patients with cancer and their families, and that they continually evaluate performance and take proactive corrective action when necessary.

Quality Oncology Practice Initiative (QOPI) Certification Program

CTCA is recognized by the Quality Oncology Practice Initiative (QOPI®) Certification Program, an affiliate of the American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO), for meeting the highest standards for quality cancer care. The Certification Program (QCP™) provides a three-year certification for outpatient practices that meet the benchmarks for breast, colorectal, non-small cell lung, non-Hodgkin lymphoma, gynecologic and prostate cancers.

The Joint Commission

CTCA hospitals are accredited by The Joint Commission (formerly Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations, or JCAHO) with Full Standards Compliance, which is awarded to health care organizations that demonstrate satisfactory compliance with applicable Joint Commission standards in all performance areas. The Joint Commission provides the “gold standard” seal of hospital approval in health care.

Foundation for the Accreditation of Cellular Therapy

CTCA hospitals in Philadelphia and suburban Chicago are recognized by the Foundation for the Accreditation of Cellular Therapy (FACT) at the University of Nebraska Medical Center for demonstrating compliance with FACT-JACIE International Standards for Cellular Therapy Product Collection, Processing and Administration. The accreditation recognizes programs that meet rigorous standards in a variety of stem cell therapies, including clinical care, donor management, cell collection, processing, storage, transportation, administration and cell release.

National Accreditation Program for Breast Centers (NAPBC)

The National Accreditation Program for Breast Centers (NAPBC) has awarded the breast cancer programs at four CTCA hospital locations with three-year accreditations. The NAPBC has established 27 standards that breast centers must meet to ensure all patients with breast disease receive quality care. The 27 standards include breast center leadership, clinical management, research, community outreach, professional education and quality improvement.

College of American Pathologists (CAP)

All CTCA hospitals are accredited by the College of American Pathologists (CAP). The CAP accreditation process is designed to ensure that laboratories are delivering the highest standard of care to the patients they serve. Inspectors examine the laboratory’s records and quality control of procedures, laboratory staff qualifications, equipment, facilities, safety program and record, and overall management.

American College of Radiology

CTCA is fully accredited in radiation oncology and multiple imaging modalities, including mammography, CT, PET, ultrasound, nuclear medicine and MRI. This accreditation is awarded to facilities that meet specific radiation oncology practice guidelines and technical standards developed by the American College of Radiology.

American Nurses Credentialing Center (Magnet Recognition)

CTCA in suburban Chicago has earned Magnet Recognition® for excellence in nursing. Awarded by the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC), Magnet status is considered the highest honor a hospital can achieve for its nursing excellence and patient care. Only 9 percent of U.S. hospitals achieve Magnet recognition. All CTCA hospitals are pursuing this designation.

AABB Accreditation

CTCA hospitals in suburban Chicago and Philadelphia are accredited by the American Association of Blood Banks (AABB), which "promotes the highest standard of care for patients, donors and products in all aspects of transfusion medicine, cellular therapies, transplantation and relationship testing."