Our website will soon be relaunched with a fresh look and improved user experience. Take a look by visiting our test site.
Call us 24/7 at (888) 552-6760
Cancer Treatment Centers of America

Jim Monaco

Pancreatic cancer - Stage IV

This testimonial includes a description of this patient’s actual medical results. Those results may not be typical or expected for the particular disease type described in this testimonial. You should not expect to experience these results.

View CTCA treatment results for pancreatic cancer

My story

I’m a retired home builder. I have been my whole life. I am the third generation in my family to build. I come from a family of five sisters, so I was the natural choice to pass down the family trade.

I married my college sweetheart, Cathy, and we live in Virginia. Together, we have two grown children and two grandchildren. They light up my life, and I love them all. Life was good, and we were all very happy.

But in early 2016, I was hospitalized after returning home from my daughter’s wedding in the Dominican Republic. I had flu-like symptoms, including severe joint and muscle pain, swollen lymph nodes, headache, fever and exhaustion. After several tests, including a CT scan, it was determined that I had contracted dengue fever. I completed treatment and began feeling better.

Then in July 2016, I just wasn’t feeling myself again. I am pretty stubborn, so it took a while before I finally gave in and went to see a doctor. We ran some tests, and my bloodwork was abnormal. So I went in for another CT scan.

When my new CT scan results were available, they compared the new scans to the old ones. That’s when they found a mass on my pancreas that wasn’t there six months ago. A biopsy confirmed my worst fear—I was diagnosed with adenocarcinoma of the pancreas.