Cancer Treatment Centers of America

We're available 24/7
(800) 615-3055

Chat online with us

Chat now

Other ways to contact us

Have us
call you
(800) 615-3055

Have questions? Call (800) 615-3055 to speak to a cancer information specialist.
Or we can call you.

Cancer Treatment Centers of America at Midwestern Regional Medical Center Earns Magnet® Recognition by American Nurses Credentialing Center

CHICAGO – Cancer Treatment Centers of America® (CTCA) at Midwestern Regional Medical Center (Midwestern) has been granted Magnet® Recognition for excellence in nursing by the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC). 

CTCA at Midwestern was notified of the ANCC decision to grant it Magnet just seven weeks after the ANCC Magnet appraiser site visit. “We are honored to recognize CTCA at Midwestern as one of 37 Magnet organizations in Illinois. We were exceedingly impressed with the exceptional degree of nurse satisfaction, patient satisfaction and commitment to excellence throughout the appraisal process,” said Deborah Zimmerman, DNP, RN, NEA-BC, Chair of the Commission for the Magnet Recognition Program®. "CTCA at Midwestern outperformed all the Magnet hospitals rated in all five areas of the Magnet standards through their continued dedication to provide exceptional care in every aspect of their community,” said Zimmerman, who announced the awarding of the prestigious designation to a jubilant, standing-room-only crowd of CTCA at Midwestern nurses, board members, physicians and staff.

Of the nearly 6,000 hospitals in the United States, less than seven percent are Magnet-recognized/have earned the Magnet designation.

"Earning Magnet Recognition is a testament to the extraordinary nursing care provided at CTCA at Midwestern,” said Scott Jones, president and chief executive officer of CTCA at Midwestern. "This is the highest honor a U.S. hospital can receive for its nursing program and one our nurses have worked tirelessly to achieve.” 

The ANCC honors organizations that demonstrate excellence in nursing practice and adherence to national standards and best practices. A hospital that has been recognized by the Magnet Recognition Program® is one that has met the specific standards set forth by ANCC. These standards define the highest quality of nursing practice and patient care. The standards must be demonstrated in an extensive written document that is submitted to the ANCC. A site visit takes place after the documents are reviewed so appraisers can verify, clarify, and amplify the document through extensive onsite interviews and unit tours.

“Earning Magnet Recognition reflects our commitment to creating and sustaining a professional nursing culture where the wellbeing of the patient is the ultimate focus of all of our efforts,“ said Carmelita Zeta-Sanchez, MSN, RN, NE-BC, assistant vice president of nursing and chief nursing officer. “It is also a reflection of the commitment of CTCA at Midwestern to create a positive environment for its nursing staff. Magnet designation reinforces the CTCA culture of patient care excellence, our values and our Mother Standard® of care. It is what we are all about – the patient, excellence, high-quality care and collaboration.”

Research shows there are clear benefits to hospitals that achieve Magnet status, and to the communities they serve. Magnet Recognition increases consumer confidence, serves to attract and retain top talent, advances nursing standards and practices, and fosters a more collaborative culture. The designation is granted for four years, during which time the ANCC monitors Magnet facilities to ensure high standards of care remain intact.

About the American Nurses Credentialing Center’s (ANCC) Magnet Recognition Program®

The Magnet Recognition Program® is administered by the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC), the largest and most prominent nurses credentialing organization in the world. It recognizes healthcare organizations that provide the very best in nursing care and professionalism in nursing practice. The Magnet Recognition Program® serves as the gold standard for nursing excellence and provides consumers with the ultimate benchmark for measuring quality of care. For more information about the Magnet Recognition Program® and current statistics, visit

About Cancer Treatment Centers of America

Cancer Treatment Centers of America, Inc. (CTCA) is a national network of hospitals focusing on complex and advanced stage cancer. CTCA offers a comprehensive, fully integrated approach to cancer treatment and serves patients from all 50 states at facilities located in Atlanta, Chicago, Philadelphia, Phoenix and Tulsa. Known for delivering the Mother Standard® of care and Patient Empowerment Medicine®, CTCA provides patients with information about cancer and their treatment options so they can control their treatment decisions. For more information about CTCA, go to

Cancer Types
Our Doctors
Your browser (Internet Explorer 7) is out of date. Learn how to update your browser.