Cancer Treatment Centers of America

Types of hodgkin lymphoma

Lymphomas are classified based on the type of lymphocyte involved as well as several other factors, including cell size and how the cancer grows.

Hodgkin lymphoma is marked by the presence of an abnormal lymphocyte called the Reed-Sternberg cell (or B lymphocyte).

cancer diagnostics

The current classification system for lymphoma is the WHO/REAL system (World Health Organization/ Revised European American Lymphoma classification).

The WHO system distinguishes lymphomas based on a number of characteristics, including: the appearance of the cells, the chromosome features of the cells, and the presence of certain chemicals on the surface of the cells.

The two main types of Hodgkin lymphoma are classical Hodgkin lymphoma (which account for the majority of cases) and nodular lymphocyte-predominant Hodgkin lymphoma. Each type of cancer grows and spreads in different ways.

We're here to guide you through the cancer journey

We understand you may be feeling overwhelmed with questions and concerns about your type of cancer and what it all means. We're here to help guide you through the process.

Our hospital
Explore our cancer hospitals, which house the latest treatments, technologies and supportive care services under one roof.
Patient centered
Discover our patient-centered approach, and how you get all your questions answered in a single visit by a dedicated team of cancer experts.
Contact us
Discuss treatment options with an Oncology Information Specialist, who is available 24/7 at (888) 552-6760, or chat with us.

Have a question?

Chat now

Or call and ask an Oncology Information Specialist. We're here 24/7.

(888) 552-6760